Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Peter M. McCoy Jr. Robert W. Hayes Jr. Michael Hitchcock Joshua L. Howard Andrew N. Safran



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

June 27, 2017

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial offices listed below:

The term of office currently held by the Honorable John W. Kittredge, Justice of the Supreme Court, Seat 3, will expire July 31, 2018.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Thomas E. Huff, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 8, will expire June 30, 2018.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable George C. "Buck" James Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, Third Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his election to the Supreme Court, Seat 1. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2018, and the subsequent full term which will expire June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Roger E. Henderson, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2018.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable L. Casey Manning, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fifth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2018.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Grace Gilchrist Knie, Judge of the Circuit Court, Seventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2018.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Eugene C. Griffith Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, Eighth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2018.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Kristi Lea Harrington, Judge of the Circuit Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2018.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable R. Scott Sprouse, Judge of the Circuit Court, Tenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2018.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable William Paul Keesley, Judge of the Circuit Court, Eleventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2018.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable R. Knox McMahon, Judge of the Circuit Court, Eleventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his retirement on or before June 30, 2018. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which expires June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Michael G. Nettles, Judge of the Circuit Court, Twelfth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2018.

The term of office currently held the Honorable Letitia H. Verdin, Judge of the Circuit Court, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2018.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable David Garrison "Gary" Hill, Judge of the Circuit Court, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 4, upon his election to the Court of Appeals, Seat 9. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2022.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Perry M. Buckner III, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2018.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable John C. Hayes III, Judge of the Circuit Court, Sixteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2017. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2022.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the late Honorable Tanya A. Gee, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 9. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2021.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Dale Moore Gable, Judge of the Family Court, Second Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon her retirement on or before July 1, 2018. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2019.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable George Marion McFaddin Jr., Judge of the Family Court, Third Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon his election to the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 1. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2022.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable W. Thomas Sprott Jr., Judge of the Family Court, Sixth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2017. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2020.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Joseph W. McGowan III, Judge of the Family Court, Eighth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 upon his retirement on or before October 1, 2017. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2019.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Deborah Neese, Judge of the Family Court, Eleventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon her retirement on or before July 8, 2017. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2019.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable A. Eugene Morehead III, Judge of the Family Court, Twelfth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2018. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2019.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Shirley C. Robinson, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 5, will expire June 30, 2018.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable S. Jackson Kimball, Master-in-Equity, York County, Sixteenth Circuit, upon his retirement on or before June 30, 2018. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2021.

A vacancy will exist in the newly created seat for Master-in-Equity of Florence County, Twelfth Circuit. The term will be from July 1, 2017 until June 30, 2023.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 ErinCrawford@scsenate.gov (803) 212-6689

or

Lindi Legare, JMSC Administrative Assistant at (803) 212-6623 or LindiLegare@scsenate.gov.

The Commission will not accept applications after 12:00 noon on Monday, July 31, 2017.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the Commission website at http://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php.